I see these notions, object and material, more as a continuum. They are not so clearly separated. The idea of a continuum allows us to put an emphasis on how things travel between spaces, or how material travels towards object. Can it be in this grey zone in between material and ob ject, and what does this grey zone actually allow for?
(Vladimir Miller, Settlement, 2017)

If space is but the product of how all of its users negotiate their desires and needs, how does it take shape? How can it still afford personal expression? What kind of logistics gets practiced in such a space?

Artist: Vladimir Miller Location: Hamburg Medium: Scenography Text: Moritz Frischkorn
Close
‘The Great Report’, Jan 2020, Kampnagel Hamburg, (c) Robin Hinsch

Entrance

As an audience member, you enter the room from the backside, through the security gate, which is also used to bring all the technical setup and materials onto the stage. From the foyer, you walk through several corridors where spotlights and other equipment are stored. You turn right twice, and pass through the big red security door. You have arrived at the installation.

Yellow cargo ropes hang from the ceiling, all over the room. They remind you of yellow rain or a Japanese drawing. Maybe, they also remind you of a derelict warehouse. Suspended from the yellow ropes are various large objects, including refrigerators and a very large plastic tarp shaped like a 20-foot container. PVC sheets are suspended between the ropes, on which someone has written and drawn. At some place between the many ropes, the PVC drawing and various hanging objects, there is a papier-mâché mountain.

Sketch for the papier-mâché mountain, (c) Vladimir Miller
Sketch for structure of yellow ropes, (c) Vladimir Miller

This space is the result of various negotiations. It functions both as an installation and as a stage set for a performance. It tries to accommodate a set of different research dossiers on the relationship between logistics and choreography, while at the same time trying to arrange them into a coherent composition. The space was developed by scenographer Vladimir Miller, who adapted his method of Set-Up for this performance production. Some of the steps in the development of the space are described below:

Grid, structure, suspension

One of Miller's first conceptual decisions is the proposal to hang all stage elements. This decision, which is an important starting point for the scenographic process, but is not stringently followed through in the end, requires an infrastructure from and onto which things can be hung.

Already in the first rehearsal phase, we experiment with differently colored belts that we hang from a rig on the ceiling. The straps function on two levels: They structure the space visually, marking it as a mathematically-geometrically framed space, insofar as they hang from the ceiling at regular intervals. At the same time, they represent a form of skeleton onto and from which certain things can be hung.

‘The Great Report’, Jan 2020, Kampnagel Hamburg, (c) Robin Hinsch

For this purpose, Miller initially provides simple materials, i.e. sticks and wood, cloths and sheets of hard plastic. These can be used as tables, displays, projection surfaces, writing surfaces, room dividers, insulating materials, etc. The actual installation then emerges from the needs of the participating artists and is constructed within a collective process of negotiation – a method Miller has been using for many years in his pedagogical-scenographic practice Set-Up.

Set-Up

Set-Up is Miller's artistic research practice which he has developed and tested at a.pass in Brussels. It aims at understanding the production of art spaces as a collective negotiation. At the very base of it, two simple rules apply: There are no established protocols of ownership in the space. Rather, a provisional form of ownership emerges only from the repeated use of individual materials, places, or elements. Only in so far as things are used iteratively, they belong to particular practices and people.

Secondly, the materials used in Set-Up do not have a clear functionality. For example, there are no chairs and tables because these, like all heavily designed objects, already carry certain affordances and protocols of assembly. Thus, all participants are called upon to reformulate their own practice using a selection of ‘simple’ materials.

In the process of differentiating the workspace, materials and objects often change both owner and function. A board that serves as a table today may become a whiteboard or a slippery surface tomorrow. It is the interaction between material and human used that decides which of the many affordances of a specific element is actualized.

What emerges is an alternative form of logistics; one that does not simply ascribe functions to individual objects and or transport them to a particular place as efficiently as possible and according to external rules. Rather, a form of logisticality is at work in which people and things are related to one another by means of open-ended negotiation. Here, things are granted a certain indeterminacy.

Stations

For the collaborative rehearsal process of the Great Report, Miller adapts his method of Set-Up. First, the invited artists begin to build and design their own places within the pre-installed grid, thereby finding forms and representations for the research they conducted within the project. At the same time, the space also serves as a rehearsal studio for the performance ‘Dance as Oracle’ by Maria F. Scaroni. During the rehearsal process, the individual stations for the research conducted on Crete, in Nigeria and in Lebanon are thus designed by the participating artists in conversation with Vladimir Miller:

‘The Great Report’, Jan 2020, Kampnagel Hamburg, (c) Robin Hinsch
Sketches for station Crete, (c) Vladimir Miller

For the research on water overconsumption and the tourism industry on the island of Crete, Miller builds a cinema screen, flanked and framed by refrigerators stacked on top of each other, hanging from the ceiling next to the screen. The refrigerators are lit from within and serve as small shrines in which objects from the research in Crete are shown. They become a display for the essences and ingredients of paradise.

For the research in Nigeria, Miller builds a large table out of lattice panels that is reminiscent of a photo developing lab. On a long table in the front of this installation, documents are displayed that reveal the costs and organizational work involved in the research in the Niger Delta. The environmental activist Fyneface Dumnamene Fyneface is highlighted as the protagonist and amateur photographer. Behind this, black photo tubs are placed on several lattice shelves, in which prints of Robin Hinsch's pictures seem to be lying to be developed. Lastly, several flagpoles are attached to the grid tables, from which three pictures from Nigeria hang as large flags.

Sketches for station Nigeria, (c) Vladimir Miller
‘The Great Report’, Jan 2020, Kampnagel Hamburg, (c) Robin Hinsch

For artist Nour Sokhon's sound work on land reclamation in Lebanon, Miller builds a listening station: A large plastic tarp normally used to fill the inside of a 20-foot container is cut in half and hung from the ceiling so that the audience can stand inside of it. On the inside, it is lined with hemp so that the sound played here is somewhat muffled. At the same time, the interior of the container smells of plants and processes of decay.

Sketches for station Beirut, (c) Vladimir Miller
‘The Great Report’, Jan 2020, Kampnagel Hamburg, (c) Robin Hinsch

Materials

All the materials used in the space are reminiscent of the field of logistics in terms of their material aesthetics and functionality. First of all, the yellow cargo straps refer to the process of securing or mooring goods. The large white plastic sheeting represents the form of the shipping container, the central medium of modern logistics and global supply chains.

The metal elements of the grid table on which Robin Hinsch's photographic work is exhibited are reminiscent of heavy-duty shelving. Similar elements are also present in several places in the space, as tables on which further strands of research are made present through objects and with the help of sound.

‘The Great Report’, Jan 2020, Kampnagel Hamburg, (c) Robin Hinsch

The hanging refrigerators refer to the working field of second-hand logistics, which we researched have in Nigeria, and which is also very present in Hamburg, especially in Billstraße. In one corner of the room, a car console hangs from the ceiling next to a large-format image of the car that Robin Hinsch and I used in order to do our research in Lagos.

Thus, the space may appear as a dysfunctional distribution center, a place where – in the case of the performance – information is repackaged and thus made accessible to the viewer. Insofar as this place is no longer in use, but serves as a display for our research only, it also takes on an abandoned, almost nostalgic quality which is reinforced by the presence of the veiled performer, as whom Maria F. Scaroni appears.

A hanging labyrinth

The last stage element are different maps and drawings attached to the yellow belts. They are drawn on transparent PVC sheets with thick marker pens, so that they appear partially transparent and can be read with varying degrees of clarity, depending on the lighting conditions.

Sketches for PVC maps, (c) Vladimir Miller
‘The Great Report’, Jan 2020, Kampnagel Hamburg, (c) Robin Hinsch

At first, the map elements hanging across the room create the impression of a branching navigational system that can only be read in fragments. They create diagonals, small passages and separate narrow sections from the rest of the stage. The experience of exploring the space may thus remind of a labyrinth.

The labyrinth, whose origin is located on the island of Crete, can be interpreted in different ways. On the one hand, it refers to a certain form of circular dance; at the same time, it is the place where the Minotaur is held captive. Yet, it may also be interpreted as a metaphor for an early shocking experience of urbanity. For the Greeks of early antiquity, the Minoan city of Knossos represented an impossible-to-decipher maze of multi-story houses and alleys.

‘The Great Report’, Jan 2020, Kampnagel Hamburg, (c) Robin Hinsch

Therefore, the labyrinth indirectly refers to my own experience of working on the ‘Great Report’. While I, together with the participating artists, have tried to follow specific materials – i.e. water, garbage and oil – to different places on the globe, in order to uncover something about my own entanglement in logistical process and global supply chains, the project increasingly produces feelings of disorientation and powerlessness.

The impossibility of adequately representing the complexity of specific contexts, of mapping the multiplicity of their connections to one another, of thus mapping the entanglement of my own position with other places on the planet, can be experienced within the space. Objects, writing, image and movement overlap.

Hanging in the air

Perhaps, my own position as the initiator of the project and as an artistic researcher to uncover and narrate aspects of my own entanglement in global supply chains is also left hanging in the air. The choreography of information, which is being narratively and physically reworked within this project, is in need of emotional labor so that it can be reconnected to the concrete place in which it is exhibited.

In this respect, the space staged by Miller speaks of the following question: In the face of a super-extended choreography of logistics that pretends to be sending things, objects and people around the planet without ever meeting any friction, what can a practice look like that tries to critically reflect its own position without understanding it as a central reference point?

‘The Great Report’, Jan 2020, Kampnagel Hamburg, (c) Robin Hinsch
Sketch for the papier-mâché mountain, (c) Vladimir Miller
Sketch for structure of yellow ropes, (c) Vladimir Miller
‘The Great Report’, Jan 2020, Kampnagel Hamburg, (c) Robin Hinsch
‘The Great Report’, Jan 2020, Kampnagel Hamburg, (c) Robin Hinsch
Sketches for station Crete, (c) Vladimir Miller
Sketches for station Nigeria, (c) Vladimir Miller
‘The Great Report’, Jan 2020, Kampnagel Hamburg, (c) Robin Hinsch
Sketches for station Beirut, (c) Vladimir Miller
‘The Great Report’, Jan 2020, Kampnagel Hamburg, (c) Robin Hinsch
‘The Great Report’, Jan 2020, Kampnagel Hamburg, (c) Robin Hinsch
Sketches for PVC maps, (c) Vladimir Miller
‘The Great Report’, Jan 2020, Kampnagel Hamburg, (c) Robin Hinsch
‘The Great Report’, Jan 2020, Kampnagel Hamburg, (c) Robin Hinsch
Track ID

00:00/00:00

I see these notions, object and material, more as a continuum. They are not so clearly separated. The idea of a continuum allows us to put an emphasis on how things travel between spaces, or how materials are turned into objects. How can things remain in this grey zone, somewhere between the status of bare material and functional object, and what does this grey zone actually allow for?
(Vladimir Miller, Settlement, 2017)

Für die Griechen stellten die kretischen Städte vor 2.000 Jahren eine grundlegende neue räumliche Erfahrung dar. Den Schrecken, den sie dabei empfanden, transformierten sie in ein ästhetisches Spiel. In ein Spiel um Zentralität und Peripherie, Orientierung und Desorientierung; in ein Spiel, in dem jene weit zurückreichende Erfahrung des Vordringens und Verirrens bis in unsere Gegenwart transportiert wurde, dabei unablässig neue Erfahrungen und Vorstellungen an sich bindend.
(Olaf Nicolai/Jan Wenzel, Labyrinth – ein Buch in vier Vorträgen, 2012)

Wie sieht ein Raum aus, der aus einer Aushandlung der Bedürfnisse aller seiner Nutzer*innen hervorgeht, der diesen aber zugleich einen eigene Ausdruck erlaubt? Welche Form der Logistik wird dabei praktiziert?

Artist: Vladimir Miller Location: Hamburg Medium: Szenographie Text: Moritz Frischkorn
Close
‘The Great Report’, Jan 2020, Kampnagel Hamburg, (c) Robin Hinsch

Einlass

Als Zuschauer*in betrittst Du den Raum von hinten, durch die Sicherheitsschleuse, die auch dazu dient, alle Aufbauten und Materialien auf die Bühne zu bringen. Zunächst läufst Du vom Foyer durch mehrere Gänge, in denen auch Scheinwerfer und anderes Equipment gelagert werden. Du biegst zweimal nach rechts ab, und durchquerst die große rote Sicherheitstür. Dann bist Du in der Installation angekommen.

Von der Decke hängen gelbe Lastenseile überall im Raum. Sie erinnern an gelben Regen oder eine Strichzeichnung. Vielleicht erinnern sie auch an eine Lagerhalle. Von den gelben Seilen sind verschiedene große Objekte abgehängt, unter anderem Kühlschränke und eine sehr große Plastikplane in der Form eines 20 Fuß-Containers. Zwischen manchen der Seile sind große PVC-Folien gespannt, auf die jemand geschrieben und gezeichnet hat. Irgendwo zwischen den vielen Seilen, den PVC-Karten und verschieden hängenden Objekte und Aufbauten steht ein Pappmaché-Berg.

Sketch für den Pappmaché-Berg, (c) Vladimir Miller
Sketch für die gelbe Seilstruktur, (c) Vladimir Miller

Dieser Raum ist das Ergebnis verschiedener Aushandlungen. Er fungiert zugleich als eine Installation und als Bühnenbild für eine Performance. Er versucht, die Ergebnisse unterschiedlicher Recherchen zum Verhältnis von Logistik und Choreographie zu beherbergen, sie aber zugleich in eine geschlossene Komposition zu fügen. Der Raum wurde vom Szenographen Vladimir Miller entwickelt, der hier seine Methode des Set-Up für eine Performance-Produktion adaptiert hat. Im Folgenden werde einige der Entwicklungsschritte dieses Raums beschrieben:

Grid, Struktur, Hängung

Eine der ersten konzeptuellen Entscheidungen Millers ist der Vorschlag, alle Bühnenelemente zu hängen. Diese Entscheidung, die einen wichtiger Ausgangspunkt für den szenografischen Prozess darstellt, aber am Ende nicht stringent durchgehalten wird, bedarf einer Infrastruktur von oder an der Dinge aufgehangen werden können.

Bereits in der ersten Probenphase experimentieren wir dafür mit unterschiedlich farbigen Gurten, die von einem Rigg an der Decke herunterhängen. Die Gurte funktionieren dabei auf zwei Ebenen: Sie strukturieren den Raum visuell und markieren ihn als einen mathematisch-geometrisch erfassten Raum, insofern sie in regelmäßigen Abständen von der Decke hängen. Zugleich stellen sie eine Form des Gerippes dar, an dem bestimmte Dinge aufgehangen werden können.

‘The Great Report’, Jan 2020, Kampnagel Hamburg, (c) Robin Hinsch

Dafür stellt Miller im Probenprozess zunächst einfache Materialien zur Verfügung, d.h. Stöcke und Hölzer, Tücher und Platten aus Hartplastik. Diese können als Tische, Display, Projektionsfläche, Schreibunterlage, Raumtrenner, Dämmmaterial, usw. verwendet werden. Die tatsächliche Installation entsteht dabei aus den Bedürfnissen der beteiligten Künstler*innen heraus – eine Methode, die Miller seit vielen Jahren in seiner pädagogisch-szenografischen Praxis Set-Up betreibt.

Set-Up

Set-Up ist die künstlerische Forschungspraxis Millers, wie er sie beispielsweise an der Brüsseler Kunsthochschule a.pass erprobt. Sie zielt darauf ab, Arbeits- und Kunstproduktionsräume als einen kollektiven Verhandlungsprozess zu verstehen. Dabei gelten zunächst zwei einfache Regeln: Es gibt im Raum keine etablierten Protokolle von Besitz. Vielmehr entsteht eine provisorische Form des Besitzes erst aus der wiederholten Nutzung einzelner Materialien, Orte oder Elemente. Der Gebraucht markiert die Dinge als zugehörig zu bestimmten Praktiken und Personen.

Zweitens werden in Set-Up vor allem solche Materialien verwendet, die keine klare Funktionalität aufweisen. Es gibt zum Beispiel keine Stühle und Tische, weil diese, wie alle stark designten Objekte, bestimmte Protokolle von Versammlung bereits in sich tragen. So sind alle Teilnehmer*innen dazu aufgerufen, ihre eigene Praxis an Hand einer Auswahl von ‘einfachen’ Materialien neu zu formulieren.

Dabei wechseln Materialien und Objekte im Prozess der Ausdifferenzierung des Arbeitsraums häufig sowohl Besitzer*in und Funktion. Eine Platte, die heute noch als Tisch dient, kann morgen bereits zum Whiteboard oder zu einer abschüssigen Rutschfläche geworden sein. Es ist, auch in diesem Fall, die Interaktion zwischen Material und Mensch, die entscheidet, welche Affordanz das Material zur Verfügung steht.

Es entsteht eine alternative Form der Logistik, die einzelnen Objekten nicht einfach Funktionen zuschreibt und oder sie möglichst effizient und nach äußerlichen Regeln an einen bestimmten Ort transportiert. Vielmehr ist eine Form der Logistikalität am Werk, in der Menschen und Dinge in einem Verhandlungsprozess aufeinander bezogen sind. Hier werden den Dingen eine gewisse Unbestimmtheit zugestanden wird.

Stationen

Für den gemeinsamen Probenprozess am Great Report wird die Methode des Set-Up angepasst. Zunächst beginnen die beteiligten Künstler*innen, in das vorinstallierte Grid hinein eigene Orte als Repräsentationen der durchgeführten Recherchen zu bauen und gestalten. Gleichzeitig dient der Raum auch als Ort für die Probenarbeit an der Performance ‘Dance as Oracle’ von Maria F. Scaroni. Während des Probenprozesses werden die einzelnen Stationen der jeweiligen Recherchen auf Kreta, in Nigeria und im Libanon dann von den beteiligten Künstler:innen im Gespräch mit Vladimir Miller weiter ausformuliert und bekommen so ein spezifisches Design:

‘The Great Report’, Jan 2020, Kampnagel Hamburg, (c) Robin Hinsch
Sketches für Station Kreta, (c) Vladimir Miller

Für die Recherche zu Wasserüberkonsumption und Tourismusindustrie auf der Insel Kreta baut Miller eine Kinoleinwand, die von jeweils zwei quer aufeinander gestapelten Kühlschränken, die neben der Leinwand von der Decke hängen, flankiert und gerahmt wird. Die Kühlschränke werden von innen beleuchtet und dienen als kleine Schreine, in denen Objekte aus der Recherche auf Kreta ausgestellt werden. Sie werden zum Display für die Essenzen und Zutaten des Paradieses.

Für die Recherche in Nigeria baut Miller einen großen Tisch aus Gitterplatten, der an ein Foto-Entwicklungslabor erinnern. Auf einem langen Tisch nach vorne hin werden Dokumente ausgestellt, welche aufdecken, mit welchen Kosten und welcher Organisationsarbeit die Recherche im Nigerdelta verbunden war. Dabei wird vor allem der Umweltaktivist Fyneface Dumnamene Fyneface als Protagonist und Hobbyfotograph hervorgehoben. Dahinter stehen auf mehreren Gitterböden schwarze Fotowannen, in denen Abzüge der Bilder von Robin Hinsch scheinbar zum Entwickeln liegen. Zuletzt sind an die Gittertische mehrere Fahnenstangen angebracht, von denen drei Bilder aus Nigeria als große Fahnen hängen.

Sketches für Station Nigeria, (c) Vladimir Miller
‘The Great Report’, Jan 2020, Kampnagel Hamburg, (c) Robin Hinsch

Und für die Soundarbeit der Künstlerin Nour Sokhon zu Landgewinnung durch Müll im Libanon baut Miller eine Hörstation: Dafür wird eine große Plastikfolie, die normalerweise zur Innenauskleidung eines 20 Fuß-Containers dient, halbiert und von der Decke gehangen, so dass sie von unten begehbar ist und man in ihr stehen kann. Innen ist sie mit Hanf ausgekleidet, damit der hier abgespielte Sound ein wenig gedämpft wird. Zugleich duftet das Innere des Containers dabei nach pflanzlichen Prozessen der Vermoderung.

Sketches für Station Beirut, (c) Vladimir Miller
‘The Great Report’, Jan 2020, Kampnagel Hamburg, (c) Robin Hinsch

Materialien

Alle verwendeten Materialien im Raum erinnern von ihrer Materialästhetik und Funktionalität an das Arbeitsfeld der Logistik. Zunächst verweisen die gelben Lastengurte auf den Prozess der Sicherung und Vertäuung von Gütern. Mit der großen weißen Plastikfolie ist zugleich die Form des Schifffahrtscontainers präsent, der als zentrales Medium moderner Logistik und globaler Lieferketten gelten kann.

Die Metallelemente des Gittertisches, auf denen die fotografische Arbeit von Robin Hinsch ausgestellt ist, erinnern an Schwerlastregale. Elemente von Schwerlastregalen sind außerdem als kleine Tische an mehreren Stellen im Raum präsent, auf denen weitere Recherchestränge durch Objekte und mit Hilfe von Sound präsent gemacht werden.

‘The Great Report’, Jan 2020, Kampnagel Hamburg, (c) Robin Hinsch

Die hängenden Kühlschränke verweisen auf das Arbeitsfeld der Gebrauchtwaren-Logistik, zu dem wir in Nigeria recherchiert haben, und das in Hamburg vor allem in der Billstraße präsent ist. In einer Ecke des Raumes hängt außerdem eine Autokonsole neben einem weiteren großformatigen, auf Folienstoff gedruckten Bildes des Autos, mit dem Robin und ich in Lagos unsere Recherche unternommen haben.

So erscheint der Raum auf einer möglichen Lektüreebene als ein dysfunktionales Verteilerzentrum, als ein Ort an dem – im Falle der Performance – Informationen neu verpackt und damit für unterschiedliche Zuschauer*innen zugänglich gemacht werden. Insofern dieser Ort kein Arbeitsort mehr ist, sondern als Display für unsere Recherchen dient, kommt ihm auch eine verlassene, fast schon nostalgische Qualität zu. Diese wird durch die Präsenz der verschleierten Performerin, als die Maria F. Scaroni auftritt, noch verstärkt.

Ein hängendes Labyrinth

Das letzte zentrale Bühnenelement sind unterschiedliche Karten und Zeichnungen, die an den gelben Gurten angebracht sind. Die Zeichnungen sind mit dicken Markern auf durchsichtige PVC-Folien gezeichnet, so dass sie teilweise transparent erscheinen und, abhängig von den Lichtverhältnissen, unterschiedlich gut gelesen werden können.

Sketches für PVC-Karten, (c) Vladimir Miller
‘The Great Report’, Jan 2020, Kampnagel Hamburg, (c) Robin Hinsch

Zunächst erzeugen die quer im Raum hängenden Kartenelemente den Eindruck eines verzweigten Wegleitsystems, dass nur noch fragmentarisch lesbar ist. Sie kreieren Diagonalen, schaffen kleine Durchgänge und trennen schmale Teilbereiche vom Rest der Bühne ab. Dabei mag das Erlebnis der Erkundung des Raums an ein Labyrinth erinnern.

Das Labyrinth, dessen Ursprung auf der Insel Kreta verortet wird, kann unterschiedlich gedeutet werden. Es verweist einerseits auf eine bestimmte Form des Kreistanzes, es ist zugleich der Ort, an dem der Minotaurus gefangen gehalten wird. Es mag aber auch als Metapher für ein frühes schockhaftes Erleben von Urbanität gedeutet werden. Für die Griechen der Frühantike stellten die minoische Stadt von Knossos ein unmöglich zu entzifferndes Gewirr aus mehrstöckigen Häusern und Gassen dar.

‘The Great Report’, Jan 2020, Kampnagel Hamburg, (c) Robin Hinsch

Damit verweist das Labyrinth indirekt auch auf meine eigene Erfahrung der Arbeit am Great Report. Während ich, gemeinsam mit den beteiligten Künstler*innen, versucht habe, einigen zentralen Materialien – dem Wasser, dem Müll und dem Öl – an unterschiedliche Orte zu folgen, um dort etwas über die eigene Verstricktheit in logistische Prozess und globale Lieferketten aufzudecken, produziert das Projekt über seine Dauer hinweg zunehmend Gefühle der Desorientierung und Ohnmacht.

Die Unmöglichkeit, die Komplexität spezifischer Kontexte angemessen darzustellen, die Vielfältigkeit ihrer Verbindungen zueinander abzubilden, damit die Verwicklung und Verstrickung meiner eigenen Position mit anderen Orten auf dem Planeten abzubilden, wird damit räumlich erfahrbar. Objekte, Schrift, Bild und Bewegung überlagern sich. Zusätzlich werden sie hier mit einer Ebene der Beschreibung vermischt.

In der Luft hängen

Vielleicht bleibt auch meine eigene Position als Initiator des Projektes und als künstlerischer Forscher, der im Great Report versucht, Aspekte der eigenen Verstricktheit in globale Lieferketten aufzudecken und zu erzählen, sprichwörtlich in der Luft hängen. Die Choreographie der Informationen, die in diesem Projekt miteinander verbunden und narrativ aufgearbeitet werden, braucht emotionale Arbeit, um sie wieder mit dem konkreten Ort, an dem sie ausgestellt werden, in Kontakt treten zu lassen.

Insofern spricht der von Miller inszenierte Raum von der Frage: Im Angesicht der weit verzweigten Choreographie der Logistik, die scheinbar mühelos und scheinbar gegen die Gesetze der Reibung und Schwerkaft, Dinge, Objekte und Menschen rund um den Planeten schickt, wie kann eine Praxis aussehen, die versucht, ihre eigenen Standpunkt zugleich zu reflektieren, ohne ihn dabei als zentralen Referenzpunkt zu verstehen?

‘The Great Report’, Jan 2020, Kampnagel Hamburg, (c) Robin Hinsch
Sketch für den Pappmaché-Berg, (c) Vladimir Miller
Sketch für die gelbe Seilstruktur, (c) Vladimir Miller
‘The Great Report’, Jan 2020, Kampnagel Hamburg, (c) Robin Hinsch
‘The Great Report’, Jan 2020, Kampnagel Hamburg, (c) Robin Hinsch
Sketches für Station Kreta, (c) Vladimir Miller
Sketches für Station Nigeria, (c) Vladimir Miller
‘The Great Report’, Jan 2020, Kampnagel Hamburg, (c) Robin Hinsch
Sketches für Station Beirut, (c) Vladimir Miller
‘The Great Report’, Jan 2020, Kampnagel Hamburg, (c) Robin Hinsch
‘The Great Report’, Jan 2020, Kampnagel Hamburg, (c) Robin Hinsch
Sketches für PVC-Karten, (c) Vladimir Miller
‘The Great Report’, Jan 2020, Kampnagel Hamburg, (c) Robin Hinsch
‘The Great Report’, Jan 2020, Kampnagel Hamburg, (c) Robin Hinsch
Track ID

00:00/00:00